Paradiddle Pyramid

ex8

[*Click image for full-size] Of all the rudiments my favorite is the Paradiddle. There’s something about that alternating sticking pattern as well as its effectiveness on a snare and on the drum set. There are days when it’s just me, a drum pad and pair of sticks. No matter what exercise I’m working on, my warm-ups always tend to be Paradiddle-based. When I’m practicing on the kit, I often find myself playing Paradiddle fills on both my drums and hi-hats (I use three). Recently I was introduced to the Paradiddle Pyramid. Above are the breakdowns and build ups of this exercise. Practice them with all of the accents notated and as always, try to maintain proper and consistent stick height. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Drums and Drumming

Leave a Reply

