Progressive Steps to Syncopation

Products41835-1200x1200-509629

Of all the instructional drum books I have had in my life (including my own) none have been as important as Ted Reed’s Progressive Steps to Syncopation for the Modern Drummer. I will be the first to admit that my reading chops are not quite what they used to be but I can still remember spending hours upon hours working through that book. When I was a senior in high school I auditioned for the Mellon Jazz Festival Youth Ensemble and made it to the second cut. The audition for that gig consisted of a three part tape. The first track was a snare drum piece, the second a drum set piece, and the third an improvisation. I used Ted Reed’s book for the snare drum and drum set pieces. Created exclusively to address syncopation, this Best Seller (#2 on Amazon) has earned its place as a standard tool for teaching beginning drummers and strengthening reading skills. This book includes many accented eighths, dotted eighths and sixteenths, eighth-note triplets and sixteenth notes for extended solos. Many drummers, including my friend and writing partner Rich Redmond, have broken down this book for online lessons and used it to develop their own variations. As drummers we should want to pursue our craft in order to get better. Syncopation for the Modern Drummer is a tremendous tool for doing just that. Order online at Amazon.com.Ted Reed

Leave a comment

Filed under Drums and Drumming

Leave a Reply

